BSANA Leadership


Governing Board

To serve until 2025

  • Christina Christoforatou, Literature, Baruch College, CUNY
  • Alice Lynn McMichael, Art History, Michigan State University
  • Jordan Pickett, Archaeology, University of Georgia
  • Shaun Tougher, History, Cardiff University

To serve until 2024

  • Roland Betancourt, Art History, University of California, Irvine
  • George Demacopoulos, Religious Studies, Fordham University
  • Ruma N. Salhi, History, Northern Virginia Community College
  • Felege-Selam Yirga, History, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

To serve until 2023

  • Lynn Jones, Art History, Florida State University
  • Fotini Kondyli, Archaeology, University of Virginia
  • Byron MacDougall, Literature, RISD
  • Alice Isabella Sullivan, Art History, Tufts University

To serve until 2022

  • Cecily Hilsdale, Art History, McGill University
  • Brad Hostetler, Art History, Kenyon College
  • Tia Kolbaba, Religious Studies, Rutgers University
  • Leonora Neville, History, University of Wisconsin at Madison


The nominating committee of the Byzantine Studies Association of North America invites nominations (including self-nominations) to its Board for terms beginning at the forthcoming BSC in Los Angeles. As per our by-laws, the nominating committee, formed by the four outgoing members, seeks nominees who represent a range of disciplines within the field of Byzantine studies broadly defined. All ranks are welcome; nominees may hold any type of position, at any type of institution, or work independently. If elected at the 2022 meeting, new board members will serve until the 2026 meeting, joining the twelve remaining members to form a board of sixteen in total.

Board members attend the annual board meeting held during the Byzantine Studies Conference; serve, as needed, as chairs of panels and panelists in professional development workshops; and lead ad hoc committees as appointed by the Board. Serving as a member of the Board not only provides an important service to our organization, it is also a great way to come to know colleagues from other parts of the country and in different disciplines. We have found the experience very rewarding.

Please send your nominations (or any questions you may have) to the chair of the nominating committee, Cecily Hilsdale (, by October 15, 2022. Please include the nominee’s name, rank, institution, and discipline; and please confirm that the nominee has agreed to serve if elected.


Cecily Hilsdale

Brad Hostetler

Tia Kolbaba

Leonora Neville

© 2022 Byzantine Studies Association of North America, Inc. (BSANA) . All Rights Reserved.