Byzantine Studies Conference Archives

Minutes for Meeting of the BSC Governing Board
Friday, 17 October 2003
Bates College

Present: Patrick Viscuso (President), John Cotsonis (Treasurer), Asen Kirin, Robert Nelson, Michael Gaddis, Ellen Schwartz (Vice President), John Barker, Paul Halsall, John Duffy, Caroline Connor, Rebecca Corrie, Maria Georgopoulou, Tia Kolbaba (program Committee Chair), and Glenn Peers (secretary).

Regrets: Marios Phillippides and Charles Barber.

P. Viscuso called the meeting to order at I: 15 p.m.

  1. Agenda: The agenda was approved as presented.

  2. Minutes of the Previous Governing Board (2002): On a motion by G. Peers, seconded by P. Viscuso, the minutes were approved.

  3. President's Report: P. Viscuso reported on the regularization of the incorporation of the BSC. He asked for the permission of the Board to recognize Dr. Anastasios Tousimi for his generosity with regard to the graduate-student awards. Plans for the 2004 and 2005 conferences were presented. P. Viscuso also presented the idea of giving certificates of recognition to George Contis and Philip Jameson who allowed their art to be shown during the current conference.

  4. Other Business: The question of responsibility for institutional subscriptions was raised and deferred. The questions of including plans and diagrams, etc. in the abstracts was also raised, and a decision was likewise deferred.

  5. Date and Place of next Meeting: After the final session, Saturday afternoon.

  6. Adjournment: On a motion duly made by E. Schwartz, seconded by M. Georgopoulou, the meeting was adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

Minutes for Meeting of the BSC Governing Board
Saturday, 18 October 2003
Bates College

Present: John Birkenheimer, Lynn Jones, David Olster, Robert Nelson, Martha Vinson, Michael Gaddis, Ellen Schwartz, John Barker, Marias Philippides, Paul Halsall, John Duffy, Tia Kolbaba, Asen Kirin and Glenn Peers.

Regrets: Charles Barber.

P Halsall, Vice President, called the meeting to order at 6: 15 p.m.

  1. Agenda: The agenda was approved as presented.

  2. New Members: The new members of the Governing Board were welcomed.

  3. Election of Officers: The nominees were tabled as a slate: Ellen Schwartz (president), Marios Philippides (Vice President), David Olster (Treasurer), Glenn Peers (Secretary), Lynn Jones (program Committee Chair). The slate was elected unanimously, and the chair was turned over to E. Schwartz.

  4. Past President: E. Schwarz expressed warm thanks to the outgoing President, Patrick Viscuso.

  5. Program Committee: Discussion was held on the composition of the Committee for the 2004 BSC. On a motion duly made by 1. Duffy, and seconded by E. Schwartz, the Board gave the Program Committee Chair discretionary power to form her Committee.

  6. Nominating Committee: On a motion duly made by D. Olster, seconded by J Duffy, the Board appointed P Halsall as Chair of the Nominating Committee.

  7. DO-BSC Liaison Committee: On a motion duly made by P, Halsall, seconded by M. Gaddis, the Board appointed E. Schwartz, nominated Walter Kaegi and George Majeska, with P. Viscuso ex officio to the Committee.

  8. Other business:
    1. The Board discussed the generous offer of Dr. Tousimi to provide funds for an award to a distinguished Byzantinist. T. Kolbaba moved, and R. Nelson seconded, that a Committee be struck to enter into negotiations with Dr. Tousimi over the terms of the award. The Committee will comprise E. Schwartz, W. Kaegi, Alice-Mary Talbot and J Barker. The Committee will report back to the Board with a recommendation on which the Board will vote.

    2. As Program Chair, L. Jones asked for clarification over the granting of the graduate-student awards, After discussion, the Board advised that all three prizes be given each year.

    3. On a motion duly made by R. Nelson, seconded by D. Olster, the Board unanimously agreed that from 2004 all graduate students presenting papers would be given tickets free of charge to the Business Lunch and Banquet.

    4. E. Schwartz raised the issue of graduate student stipend and suggested that at the next meeting the stipend be raised to $300. On a motion duly made by J. Duffy, seconded by G. Peers, this motion passed unanimously,

  9. Adjournment· On a motion duly made by E. Schwartz, seconded by 1. Duffy, the meeting was adjourned at 7 06 p.m.

Glenn Peers

© 2024 Byzantine Studies Association of North America, Inc. (BSANA) . All Rights Reserved.